الزخارف الخشبية القابلة للانحناء من WoodUbend: دليل كامل

A selection of WoodUbend bendable wood trims on a green background

الديكورات ، من معالجات إعادة تدوير الأثاث ، إلى التصميمات الداخلية وأي شخص آخر بينهما - الديكورات WoodUbend أثبتت شعبيتها. دعنا نلقي نظرة فاحصة على هذه الزخارف الخشبية القابلة للانحناء واكتشف أفضل طريقة لاستخدامها.

إنه خشب قابل للانحناء فقط إذا تم استخدامه بشكل صحيح

هذا غني عن القول حقًا ، ويصدق كل شيء على WoodUbend ، لكنه كذلك خاصة من المهم استخدام الديكورات بشكل صحيح. كل ال الديكورات WoodUbend بطول 2.1 متر وملفوف ، مما يريح رجل البريد الذي قد يواجه صعوبة في طرد 6 × 9 بوصة. نظرًا لأن الحواف ملفوفة ، فإن أول منفذ للاتصال هو فكها.

كيف نبدأ في فكها؟

حسنًا ، كما هو الحال مع جميع زخارف WoodUbend عندما تكون باردة ، فإنها تتمتع بجميع خصائص الخشب ، ويمكن أن تكون مصقولة ، وملطخة ، ومطلية ، ومزينة بالشمع - كل ما يمكنك فعله بالخشب ، يمكنك فعله إلى حد كبير باستخدام WoodUbend. هذا يعني ، في حالتها الرائعة ، أن الزخارف الخشبية القابلة للانحناء ، حسنًا ، غير قابلة للانحناء ، إنها صلبة وستنكسر إذا حاولت فكها عندما تبرد. الجواب بسيط إذن ، قم بتسخينهم!

سيكون المسدس الحراري أو مجفف الشعر أو حتى صينية الخبز على ما يرام ، إذا كنت تستخدم مجفف الشعر ، ضع في اعتبارك أن الأمر سيستغرق وقتًا أطول قليلاً مما لو كنت تستخدم مسدسًا حراريًا. إذا كنت ترغب في معرفة المزيد حول أفضل طريقة لتسخين القوالب الخاصة بك ، فهناك دليل مفيد هنا أو الخاص بك بائع مخزون محلي يجب أن تكون قادرة على تزويدك بالمعلومات.

لذا فإن تقليم الخشب المرن دافئ ، والخشب القابل للانحناء يكون منحنيًا ، لذا حان الوقت لفكه والبدء في العمل ، أليس كذلك؟

خاطئ!

تستغرق قوالب WoodUbend نفس القدر من الوقت تقريبًا لتبرد كما هو الحال في التسخين. بمجرد أن تبرد ، تعود إلى حالتها الصلبة مرة أخرى - لا تقلق ، على الرغم من ذلك ، يمكنك تسخين وتبريد قوالب WoodUbend عدة مرات حسب حاجتك. نظرًا لأن هذه الزخارف الخشبية القابلة للانحناء يبلغ طولها حوالي 7 أقدام ، فستجد أنها ستصبح جامحة نوعًا ما إذا تم تفكيكها إلى طولها الكامل وتركها لتبرد.

لذلك ، لتجنب هذا ، قم فقط بالفتح بقدر ما تحتاج ، مع الاحتفاظ بالباقي في الملف. يضمن القيام بذلك سهولة التعامل معه ويحتفظ بالحرارة بشكل أفضل ، مما يعني أن الخشب المرن الخاص بك يظل مرنًا لفترة أطول.

flexible wood trim being placed around the bottom of an unpainted, brown chest of drawers. The cooild of the woodUbend trim can be seen in the bottom left.

الدقة ليست شرطًا أساسيًا مع زخارف WoodUbend

تخيل المشهد ، أنت في منتصف مشروع تصميم داخلي وقمت بقص الديكور الخشبي حسب الحجم ، وتذهب لتلتصق به و ... قصير جدًا!

تقليديًا ، يعني العمل بالخشب أنه يجب أن تكون دقيقًا للغاية مع جميع قياساتك ، كما يقول المثل القديم ، "قس مرتين ، اقطع مرة واحدة". الآن ، هذا ليس صحيحًا تمامًا مع حواف WoodUbend ، يمكننا اعتبارها خشبًا مرنًا ولكن من المهم أيضًا أن نتذكر أنها متسامحة للغاية.

عندما تكون دافئة ، يمكنك بسهولة تقطيع حواف WoodUbend بسكين حرفية ، وهو أسهل بلا حدود من استخدام المنشار! ما هو أكثر من ذلك ، إذا كنت مثلي وليس أكثر الناس دقة ، فهذه الزخارف الخشبية القابلة للانحناء قد تكون منقذة لك. عندما تكون دافئة ، ستمتد الحواف إلى حوالي 10%! السحر لا يتوقف عند هذا الحد ، فتمديد الزخارف لن يشوه التصميم ، الفائز!

عند الحديث عن تشويه التصميم ، غالبًا ما يسألني عما إذا كان التصميم سيتأثر إذا تم الضغط عليه ، والإجابة هي لا. نحن لا نعمل مع المعجون أو الطين هنا ، نحن نعمل بخشب قابل للانحناء! سيعود التصميم إلى شكله الأصلي ، لذا لا تقلق بشأن الضغط عليه بشدة عند لصقه على السطح.

بمجرد أن يصبح تقليمك على السطح ، يبرد ويتصلب مرة أخرى ، قد تلاحظ أن لديك بعض البروز. عندما تبرد ، يمكن حلق الحواف بنفس سكين الحرف الذي استخدمته لتقطيعه عندما كان دافئًا. احلقها حتى تتسرب إلى السطح وأعطها سريعًا مرة أخرى باستخدام ورق صنفرة متوسط الحبيبات لترتيبها ، مهلاً ، لقد عدت إلى العمل مرة أخرى!

A bendable wood trim in it's coil about to be sliced with a craft knife

صمغ السطح

كما يوحي العنوان ، غالبًا ما يكون من الأسهل كثيرًا وضع الغراء على السطح بدلاً من الجزء الخلفي من القالب عند استخدام حواف WoodUbend. المنطق بسيط ، كما ناقشنا ، الزخارف الخشبية القابلة للانحناء تصبح غير قابلة للانحناء إلى حد كبير عندما تكون باردة ، لذلك سترغب في إبقائها ملفوفة عند استخدامها ؛ سيكون من الصعب جدًا محاولة وضع الغراء على الجزء الخلفي من الزخرفة أثناء تقدمك.

كما هو الحال مع جميع قوالب WoodUbend ، تحتاج إلى استخدام غراء خشب عالي الجودة ، شيء من هذا القبيل Titebond سريع وسميك يعمل بشكل مثالي مع القوالب. بمجرد وضع تقليم الخشب القابل للانحناء في مكانه ، امنحه انفجارًا آخر بالحرارة واضغط عليه حقًا على السطح - تذكر - لن تقوم بتشويه التصميم. عندما تضغط على الزخرفة على السطح ، ستجد على الأرجح أن بعض الصمغ قد تقلص من الجانبين. لا تقلق بشأن هذا ، إنها علامة جيدة ، فهذا يعني ببساطة أن WoodUbend تلتصق جيدًا. ما عليك سوى إزالة الفائض بفرشاة طلاء مبللة أو برعم قطن (طرف قطني) أو منديل مبلل للأطفال.

الحقيقة هي أن حواف WoodUbend سهلة الاستخدام حقًا ، كل ما عليك فعله هو أن تضع في اعتبارك بعض النقاط المذكورة أعلاه وستكون في طريقك لتصبح خبيرًا في WoodUbend. كما هو الحال مع كل شيء ، فإن الممارسة تجعله مثاليًا ، لذلك أوصي بشدة بالغوص فيه وإعطائهم فرصة!

 

هل ترغب في العمل مع WoodUbend؟

انقر هنا للعثور على وكيل WoodUbend بالقرب منك.

انقر هنا لمعرفة المزيد عن أن تصبح بائعًا.


   SollyJo WoodUBend

PostUshare:

شارك على facebook
شارك على twitter
شارك على linkedin
شارك على pinterest
شارك على email

Bendable Wood Trims From WoodUbend: A Complete Guide

A selection of WoodUbend bendable wood trims on a green background

Trims, from furniture upcyclers, to interior designs and everyone else in between – the WoodUbend trims have proven popular. Let’s take a little closer look at these bendable wood trims and discover the how best to use them.

It’s only bendable wood if used correctly

This goes without saying really, and rings true for all WoodUbend, but it’s especially important to use the trims correctly. All the WoodUbend trims are 2.1m long and come coiled up, much to the relief of the post man who might struggle with a 6′ 9″ parcel. As the trims are coiled up, the first port of call is to uncoil them.

How do we go about uncoiling them?

Well, as with all WoodUbend appliques when cool they have all the properties of wood, they can be sanded, stained, painted, distressed, waxed – whatever you can do with wood, you can pretty much do with WoodUbend. This means, in their cool state, the bendable wood trims are, well, not bendable, they’re hard and will snap if you try to uncoil them when cool. The answer is simple then, heat them up!

A heat gun, hair dryer or even a griddle will be just fine, if you are using a hair dryer, keep in mind that it will take a little longer than if you were using a heat gun. If you’d like to learn a little more about how best to heat up your mouldings, there’s a handy guide right here or your local stockist should be able to provide you with information.

So the flexible wood trim is warm, and the bendable wood is bendy so it’s time to unroll it and get to work, right?

Wrong!

WoodUbend mouldings take roughly the same amount of time to cool down as they do to heat up. Once cool they revert to their hardened state again – don’t worry, though, you can heat and cool WoodUbend mouldings as many times as you need. As these bendable wood trims are nearly 7ft long, you’ll find that they will be become rather unruly if unravelled to their full length and left to cool.

So, to avoid this only unroll as much as you need, keeping the rest in the coil. Doing so ensures that it’s much easier to handle and it retains the heat far better, meaning your flexible wood stays flexible for longer.

flexible wood trim being placed around the bottom of an unpainted, brown chest of drawers. The cooild of the woodUbend trim can be seen in the bottom left.

Precision is not a prerequisite with WoodUbend trims

Picture the scene, you’re in the middle of an interior design project and you’ve cut your wood beading to size, you go to stick it down and…too short!

Traditionally, working with wood would mean that you had to be extremely precise with all your measurements, as the old adage goes, “measure twice, cut once”. Now, this isn’t strictly true with WoodUbend trims, we can consider them flexible wood but it’s also important to remember that they are very forgiving.

When warm you can easily slice WoodUbend trims with a craft knife, which is infinitely easier than using a saw! What’s more, if you’re like me and not the most precise of people then these the bendable wood trims may just be a lifesaver for you. When warm, the trims will stretch up to around 10%! The magic doesn’t stop there though, stretching the trims will not distort the design, winner winner!

Speaking of distorting the design, I’m often asked whether the design will be affected if pressure is applied to it, the answer is no. We’re not working with putty or clay here, we’re working with bendable wood! The design will just spring back into its original shape, so don’t worry about pressing down too hard when you’re gluing it to the surface.

Once your trim is on the surface, has cooled and hardened again you may notice that you have some overhang. When cool, the trims can be shaved with the same craft knife you used to slice it when the it was warm. Shave it flush to the surface and give it a quick once over with some medium grit sandpaper to neaten it up, hey presto, you’re back in business!

A bendable wood trim in it's coil about to be sliced with a craft knife

Glue your surface

As the title suggests, it’s often much easier to apply glue to the surface rather than the back of the moulding when you’re using the WoodUbend trims. The reasoning is simple, as we’ve discussed, the bendable wood trims become very much not bendable when cool, therefore you’re going to want to keep it coiled up when using them; it would simply be too fiddly to try to apply glue to the back of the trim as you went along.

As with all WoodUbend mouldings, you need to use a good quality wood glue, something like Titebond Quick & Thick works perfectly with the mouldings. Once your bendable wood trim is in place, give it another blast with heat and really press it onto the surface – remember – you’re not going to distort the design. When you’re pressing the trim onto the surface, you will probably find that some glue is squeezed out from the sides. Don’t worry about this, it’s a good sign, it simply means that the WoodUbend adhering well. Just remove the excess with a wet paint brush, cotton bud (Q-tip) or a baby wipe.

The reality is that WoodUbend trims are really easy to use, all you have to do is keep in mind a few of the above points and you’ll be well on your way to becoming a WoodUbend trim expert. As with everything practice makes perfect, so I’d highly recommend diving in and giving them a go!

 

WoodUlike to work with WoodUbend?

Click here to find a WoodUbend stockist near you.

Click here to find out more about becoming a stockist.


   SollyJo WoodUBend

PostUshare:

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on pinterest
Share on email